Dam Vinh Hung (far right) voted Male Artist of the Year by experts

But the other big winner of the night, Ho Ngoc Ha, happened to be a no-show.

On December 27 at the Lan Anh Theatre, HCM City Radio (99.9 MHz FM) presented its prestigious Blue Wave Award 2009 before 1000 audience members. And the results are as follows:

Nguyen Hai Phong won best Vocalist & Phu Studio won Favorite Music Studio

Wanbi & Thu Thuy voted Most Promising Singers by journalists

Ha Anh Tuan’s “Sai Gon Radio” won 2009’s Favorite album

Through text messages, posts and emails, the audience voted for their Favorite Songwriters of the Year. The Top 10  includes (in no specific order):

1. Nguyễn Văn Chung
2. Hồ Hoài Anh
3. Mỹ Tâm
4. Thủy Tiên
5. Mạnh Quân
6.Nguyễn Hải Phong
7. Đức Trí
8. Minh Khang
9. Hoàng Anh-Dương Khắc Linh
10. Hồ Quỳnh Hương

As for Favorite singers, the Top 10 includes (in no specific order):

1. Đàm Vĩnh Hưng
2. Hồ Ngọc Hà
3. Hà Anh Tuấn
4. Hồ Quỳnh Hương
5. Hoàng Hải
6. Thu Minh
7. Cao Thái Sơn
8. Phương Linh
9. Mỹ Tâm
10. Thùy Chi – the youngest of them all aka Vpop’s very own Miss underground diva.

The random “Your Star” award went to Lâm Minh Huy while the Best Music Group went to….no one. Lol.

L-R: My Tam, Cao Thai Son, Hoang Hai, Dam Vinh Hung, Thuy Chi, & Ha Anh Tuan

Ho Hoai Anh, Huong Gia Linh, & Ha Anh Tuan

Wanbi Tuan Anh  & Thuy Thuy’s early Tet performancewearing modern-day Ao Dais

Thu Thuy

Wanbi  & Nguyen Hai Phong with “Doi Mat”

My Tam fans